Wabash County

index sitemap advanced
search engine by freefind


Wabash County was formed in 1824 when it was separated form Edwards County after a dispute over the county seat.
Mt. Carmel, the county seat, is the largest city in Wabash County.

Some public records have been destroyed by a series of events in the mid-1800's.
The first courthouse was in Centerville, a town that was created to serve as the county seat.
Within a few years, the county seat was moved to Mt. Carmel and a new courthouse was built in 1831.
This building burned in 1857, destroying all of the courthouse records except for a log of commissioners minutes.
Some documents were recreated from personal records. The third courthouse, built in 1857, was destroyed by a tornado in 1877.

The fourth courthouse was built with state relief aid in 1881 and remained in use until it was "rebuilt" in 1959 and 1963
(i.e. the front part was torn down and a new wing built then the rest was torn down and the new building was completed).






Combined History of Edwards, Lawrence and Wabash Counties, IL

Jordan Creek Church & Cemetery

Local Resources


Military Records
(Civil War Pensions)

Illinois Soldiers' and Sailors' Home Residents

Illinois in the Mexican War

GLO (General Land Office Records)

Civil War Companies

Penny Postcards

City of Mount Carmel

Mount Carmel Public Library

Wabash County Newspapers

Wabash County Museum (Burkett House)

Beall Woods State Park

Putnams of Wabash County

A History of Southern Illinois

Illinois Family Group Sheets

Illinois Digital Archives

Tombstone Transcription

USGenWeb Archives


Wabash Co IL Message Board - Ancestry.com
Wabash County Message Board - GENFORUM


Wabash County Mail List
Search the ILWABASH mail list archives
Browse the ILWABASH mail list archivess


Wabash County at Rootsweb

Wabash Co Historical Society Publications


Old Queries

1996  1997  1998  1999

2000  2001  2002  2003



Source: Atlas of Henry Co. Illinois to Which is Added an Atlas of the United States
Warner & Beers Publishers, Chicago, 1875. Courtesy - Alice Gless


Neighboring counties

Lawrence County

Knox County, IN

Gibson County, IN 

Edwards County

Richland County 

Visit Illinois Genealogy on







Linda Simpson
(c)2016 - Present
 ILGenWeb Project
All Rights Reserved